25-member Advisory Committee To Offer New Viewpoint For Trustees

Hank Murphy. Lubbock Avalanche-Journal. September 1, 1990. p 4-C

The appointment of a 25-member citizens advisory committee to study school reorganization in Lubbock was completed this week, and the panel will conduct its initial meeting Thursday.

The Lubbock Independent School District (LISD) Board of Trustees approved formation of the committee during an Aug.7 public hearing on school reorganization.

Jim Cummings, senior vice-president of First National Bank in Lubbock, was appointed chairman by LISD board President Bob Craig.

“I think Jim is a good individual, fair-minded,” Craig said Friday. “I think he’ll serve the committee well as chairperson.”

Superintendent Mike Moses said the committee’s initial meeting will be an organizational gathering in which members will receive their charge from the board.

The committee will hear about the issues it is to address, and it may set a tentative calendar, Moses said.

Craig said, “We’re looking for the committee to obtain input from the community, make suggestions and help us work together to come to a reasonable and fair result.”

Along with Cummings, the committee is composed of two members appointed by each school board member, two members named by Moses and lone appointments by the Black Chamber of Entrepreneurs, Comercianties Organizados Mexico-Americanos (COMA), the Board of City Development, the PTA, the Vocational Education  Advisory Committee, the Bond Steering Committee, and the Tri-ethnic Commission.

The remaining committee members and their appointers are:

  • Jose Ramirez and Carolyn Simpson-Craig
  • Harold Chapman and Hazel Taylor-Billie Caviel
  • John Wilkerson and Susan Owens-Nancy Neal
  • Bill Dean and Barbara Way-Roy Grimes
  • Steve McIntyre and Ted Hogan-Linda DeLeon
  • Gary Galanos and Kevin McMahon-Bill Miller
  • Sharon Bennett and Alan Turner-Gary Cocanougher
  • Ron Baker and Tommie Hatch-Moses
  • Diane Pierce-PTA
  • George Brewer-Vocational Education Advisory Committee
  • Marjorie Thomas-Tri-ethnic Commission
  • Danny Johnston-Bond Steering Committee
  • Adam Lara-COMA
  • Burt Williams-Black Chamber of Entrepreneurs
  • Fred Underwood-Chamber of Commerce
  • Frank Espino-Board of City Development